No babies for me (yet): NFP update

Monday, July 16, 2012
Hey all,

So I know I said I wouldn't write about this again since some people probably find this a squeamish topic and would rather not read about it, but then I figured if you don't want to read about it you don't have to! Pretty simple logic, right? :) Plus, I'm a very open gal who'll talk about anything and really couldn't resist! Anyways, I just wanted to give everyone an update about my whole preparing-not-to-have-a-baby-just-yet process and the things I've learned along the way. I figured I could share what I have learned and perhaps get some more advice since I'm still pretty new to this whole thing!

So since the last time, I have decided to go with natural family planning (NFP from here on out). I had tried the pill for a month for a few reasons. 1) I get AWFUL cramps that require me to take between 1000-2500mg of painkillers every 3-4 hours for the first 48 hours to combat. 2) I get uber moody. Sorry Graym! 3) I still deal with pretty bad monthly period-related acne and figured it couldn't hurt to try to clear that up along with the other benefits. Well, that didn't go so well. The pill made my cramps worse, I had headaches every day the entire month, and I broke out like crazy. Plus, I often forgot to take the pill at the same time every morning and don't think it would be a very effective option for me (heellloooooo honeymoon baby!). I could've tried the NuvaRing afterwards, but considering that thing was big enough to fit around my wrist and my previous attempt didn't go so well, I decided to try out the natural approach and settled on NFP.

So far, the process has been great. I really love that NFP isn't just about not getting pregnant, but learning how your body works. As a woman, I feel like it is my right to know how my body works and understand it's signs. It's a great birth control method but also a way to track your hormones and physical changes, which can ultimately help you realize when something is amiss.

The first month was a little tough. I often forgot to take my temperature right away and didn't really know what I was looking at. But three months in to it I have finally been able to determine at the beginning of the month when I should ovulate and start my cycle. These last two, I have been right on the money! It's really neat that I can estimate that and see how my bodily changes reflect that. I'm still struggling with the recognizing the changes my body goes through right before ovulating, but hopefully these next two month will proves fruitful.

My only regret in this whole process is that I wish I started sooner! I only have one cycle left before the wedding since I'll be starting the second one about four days in to the honeymoon (sucks, right? We tried to plan the wedding around it but when a gal has a 35 day cycle that doesn't fall on the same day every month, it proves tricky! I obviously failed hahaha). I think another couple of months would be great to get things totally figured out, but I'll go with what I know now and Graym and I have already decided to be extra cautious these first few months of marriage. Yes, we want babies, but not yet!!

I wanted to close by saying thanks for all the wonderful advice that you all gave me through my first update and via emails. I really appreciated it and it's great to know that there are so many women out there who actually use this method! Sadly, it's not publicized as an effective alternative to hormonal methods as much as I'd like, though it's benefits far out weigh the time it takes to take your temp in the morning and keep track of your other bodily changes. Please feel free to continue share any tips or give more advice! They are definitely welcome and though I do have a few questions I'll refrain from asking here since I think that might be a little too much for a public blog ;)

I hope this wasn't too squemish for ya'll this time! 

Love, Sash

Who wants to give this gal a massage?

Truth be told: I am stressed! We are at the point in this wedding process where there are just so many little things to figure out and I can't stay on top of it all. 

Plan the day-of itinerary. 
Coordinate flight schedules.
Book hotel rooms. 
Confirm arrival of bridesmaids/groomsmen. 
Make the program, favors, centerpieces, misc. decorations.
Confirm delivery of flowers, chairs, etc.
Gather honeymoon documents and schedule activities.
Purchase items need for gift table, favor table, guest book, dinner tables, and more.
Order bridal party and parents gifts.

And the list goes on and on...all of which need to be completed within a month and half while tackling my job, organizing the new apartment, and ultimately trying not to go crazy or blow up on Graym. Our sermon at church yesterday was on rest and boy do I need some right now! Not a day goes by where I'm not thinking about the wedding and what needs to happen next and frankly I'm just tired. I don't want to think about this any more. I don't want to do this any more. I want to go home, sit on the couch, cheat on my clean eating with a giant bowl of ice cream, and watch Americas Funniest Home videos because I flippin' love that show.

I know. Major vent post and I'm sorry. Well, not too sorry. It feels good to get this off my chest but I know I don't have the heart that I should have right now. I want to be joyful and love this time, but I'm at the point where so much is running through my head that I don't even have the opportunity to be joyful. Everyone has been so wonderful, too, asking me if they can help and what they can do, but sometimes even delegating tasks can be draining when you're the only one who knows all the details to complete those tasks.

Anways, the point of this point was to offer my back as a massage spot for any one who would like to be a masseuse for a day ;) And please be praying for me. I want to love every minute of this, especially these last few weeks, and some prayer for God given grace and joy would be greatly appreciated.


Love you all. 
Sash

60 day update: So close yet so far away

Tuesday, July 10, 2012
Graym and I hit quite a milestone this week: two months until the wedding! Every time I think about it an intense wave of eager anticipation washes over me and I'm left in the most giddy, overwhelmed, anxious state I've ever been in! The past ten months have flown by while at the very same time the next two months seem like they'll take forever. I'm sure I'll look back and think differently once the wedding day has come and passed, but for right now that day is so close I can almost taste it and I really, really want it to be here right now! Thankfully I do have a bit more time, though, because there is just so much left to do!

Let's begin with an honest confession, shall we? Here's the deal: I am SO over all this wedding stuff! Yea it's been fun, and yes I've enjoyed being able to express myself creatively throughout the process, but MAN I cannot wait for it to be over. I never thought I would say such a thing and when my cousins were going through the same set of feelings I'd laugh and shrug it off with a resounding, "That'll never happen to me! I'm going to love every minute of it." While I have loved all the planning and designing, I'm excited for the day where I can come home, relax, and not have to figure out what's next of the agenda, design that latest printable, or determine what has to be ordered! I just want to stop planning this wedding and actually be married! Is that too much for a gal to ask? : ) At least with only two months left, I can keep on trucking knowing that the beautifully wonderful end is in sight.

*Phew* Glad to get that one off my chest! Now on to the exciting news.

As many of you have figured out already from your recent mailman delivery, the invitations have been sent! They were sent in bunches on different days so some of you will be getting them a little later than others, but don't fret! They are on their way! Everything was made and designed by moi, from the burlap backing to the invitation design. Ok, ok. So I took some ideas from pinterest but hey, what future bride hasn't? Overall, I think they came out pretty swell and I hope you did too. A lot of time, effort, and love went in to those babies and I must give a quick shot out to my wonderful mama, handsome fiance, and incredible bridesmaid, Maria, for helping me glue, glue, and glue! You guys rock and there is no way I could've done it without you.

Side note: I realized I made a mistake on them today!! Worst feeling ever and I'm totally embarrassed. I swear I checked those invites 50 times before sending them to print but, alas, I put the wrong wedding website on there : ( I will be sending out a message to all the guests via facebook or some other means with the correct website later tonight and hope that you all forgive me for my silly mistake. Uggghhh, seriously. Only me!

Now back to today! Today marks 60 DAYS until the wedding!! I cannot believe it. In less than two months I will become Mrs. Kasko and I have come to love that last name more and more over time (and the man who holds it even more!). We have hit the stage where all the tiny details need to be figure out and I am beginning to feel so overwhelmed by how much we still have left to do. Thankfully I have been blessed with a wonderful support group of family and friends who have assisted me with various tasks and Graym has really taken initiative this past month with calling and contacting people without me asking. Have I told you how much I love him? I really, really do! Right now our biggest things are favors (cute little jars: check!), decorations (wall decal: check!), centerpieces (mason jars: check! wood slabs: check!), and wedding party gifts (uggh...no check on this one, yet!). Anyone who wants to have a DIY party with me this weekend is more than welcome to! :) That's just the beginning of the list, though, and it just seems to be getting longer and longer! It'll all get done and the wedding will be perfect, but man it's tough when you have a lot to do and you have no desire to do it (remember when I said I was over it? Yea...). 2 more months...2 more moths!

On another note, Graym and I get our apartment this weekend!! We wont' live together before the wedding but wanted enough enough time to move it and get the place settled so we weren't swamped with moving a week before the big day. We already have some wonderful gifts to move in and a living room set that we purchased from craigslist. It's beautiful and pretty much new since the guy kept the set in his formal living room. Talk about a bargain! My wonderful cousin and bridesmaid, Nicole, who just got married also gave us her husbands old bedroom furniture and dining set for FREE! Graym and I are so grateful and know that it will make a great addition to our new place. Both of us cannot wait to be in there together and know that we will be blessed in this home. We're also stoked to have you all over! I finally get to be a hostess! How fun is that? :D

Well, to keep this post from getting unbearably long, I'm gonna say so long for now! I'll keep you all updated as these next two months roll on by. We can't wait to see you all at the wedding come September. It's pretty much gonna be awesome, so get your excited pants on!

Much love,
Sasha